1. Health
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

DSM-IV Multi-Axial System


Updated August 16, 2013

Written or reviewed by a board-certified physician. See About.com's Medical Review Board.


Mental disorders are diagnosed according to a manual published by the American Psychiatric Association called the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders.

A diagnosis under the fourth edition of this manual, which was often referred to as simply the DSM-IV, had five parts. Each part, called an axis, gave a different type of information about the diagnosis.

  • Axis I provided information about clinical disorders. Any mental health conditions, other than personality disorders or mental retardation, would have been included here.
  • Axis II provided information about personality disorders and mental retardation.
  • Axis III provided information about any medical conditions that were present.
  • Axis IV was used to describe psychosocial and environmental factors affecting the person.
  • Axis V was a rating scale called the Global Assessment of Functioning; the GAF went from 0 to 100 and provided a way to summarize in a single number just how well the person was functioning overall.

When the fifth edition, the DSM-5, was compiled, it was determined that there was no scientific basis for dividing the disorders in this manner, so the multi-axial system was done away with. Instead, the new non-axial diagnosis combines the former Axes 1, II and III and include separate notations for the type of information which would have previously fallen into Axes IV and V.

  1. About.com
  2. Health
  3. Depression
  4. Glossary
  5. Glossary - D
  6. Definition of DSM-IV Multi-Axial System

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.

We comply with the HONcode standard
for trustworthy health
information: verify here.